THE 100 YEAR DASH – HAS MAJOR SCOREBOARD

Click the picture

The Centenarian, Centurion, Century Addendum

1914-2014 in thus, encompasses 100 years in time. I now have a more pertinent cause to study the dash between the years,

1914 – (1980) 2014.

The 100 year dash for me signifies more than a passing fancy of historic remembrances, this 100 year dash stands in duality for time. The Centenarian, Centurion, Century Addendum is now an actual addendum to the addendum as I have picked up writing this story, partially finished in June of this year 2014.

In June My Mother was still alive, she is not alive as I write this insert. On November 1st 2014; All Saints Day, my Mother Irene Dewberry died at the age of 88. A life well lived, a universally respected Women by all accounts as I prayerfully accept this reality. Irene Dewberry is now reunited in spirit with her husband, my father John G. Dewberry Sr.

I was pleased to pull thoughts out of my mind and write them in para-graphic form to celebrate my earthly fathers berth in 1914 and time which has passed since John Gary Dewberry Sr. , died in 1980.

2014 is the 100 year anniversary, I’ve heard the dash orated as a line between the years connecting birth and passing on from this life on earth. The dash is often referenced as a yardstick to frame and measure time, highlighted within an obituary.

That is not what I am doing; at least not in a conventional manner, I am celebrating life.  Reading is fundamental to uncover the wonderful information readily available by Internet through a computer. The Internet helps to make history available at your fingertips.  An internet link opens to information that was written down in a book or some other formal context.

Information is now more easy to access but reading and the ability to understand what you have read, is the foundation of knowledge and the greatness of the library system.

Think of your computer as a library system and read, research and never stop learning. I am the living internet link; a Book of Eli, in this relay race of time traveled. I was handed the life baton at birth in 1960, of this life story begun in 1914.

I am a generational seed of my Grand Father, spiritually, mentally and now in cyberspace I am able to say hello to

Mr. Preston Brooks Dewberry.

My 3 Son's & 2 Grand-Daughters, Promising, Promises and Promise.

My 3 Son’s & 2 Grand-Daughters, Promising, Promises and Promise.

Picking up the race; epitomized by the dash between nineteen fourteen and two thousand fourteen (1914 – 2014 ) , I see the baton in front of me as my willingness to chronicle the 100 Year Dash according to John Gary Dewberry Jr.

These trippee trips into the mind & soul happen as you go along for the ride, unknowingly moving forward and backwards in time. You’ve been prepared for your Training Day but you should know, with the links I provide within a story..

“King Kong ain’t got s@#* on me”.

Just like in the movies where the good guys always win!,

are lyrics akin to Bloodstone the band and the first time I saw time measured, as teachers/coaches stopped time, to see time measured. The stopwatch measured time to show that I ran the race in 7.2 seconds in training for combined elementary school field day competitions.

In elementary school, that time was fast enough for me to qualify for the relay team and the 50-yard dash. 50-yard dash means run as fast as you can for 50 yards, I also ran the 100-yard dash in 12.4 seconds. The stopwatch measured my elapsed time to run a certain distance as a time measuring piece.The 100 year dash, measures some of lifes’ times, some of my fathers times, and mines.

 

Built in 1914, this is the Sather Clock Tower on the College Campus of the University of California, Berkley. Click picture for a dusk view of the San Francisco Bridge

UC Berkley Visitor Information I have enjoyed my life, I had fun while growing up living as comfortably as possible with 2-Black working parents in America. I had a relatively easy learning experience throughout my elementary and Junior High school years 1965 – 1975. I did not face the brutal reality of Jim Crow laws and second class citizenship of my parents. I was shielded and protected from the heartbreak of racism,

taught to treat people as I want to be treated.

Raised in the Church, I am a God fearing Christian and I praise God for my Mother and Father. My father went to elementary school until 5th grade; my Mom until grade 6, then he had to stop going to school and go to work, bringing home the extra money to help the family survive.

There was always a great knowledge with my father, far beyond a 5th grade education. My fathers’ wisdom taught me many things (everything) and is still teaching me unto this day.

I was proud of my first place blue ribbons won at field day; as part of the relay race teams, my parents were proud too, in lieu of not having the same opportunity I had. I love learning, constantly I seek knowledge. I can still hear my father stating,

he wanted me to be better than him.

I did graduate from High School (1978) and I furthered my education going on to Community College, I did not graduate.

I chose to leave College after a year to form and work on my own entertainment business company, as a commercial Producer and Director.

My business dreams are meshed into the 100 year dash.

Even though my father died when I was 19 years old, he did get to see and hear me become a successful college radio disc jockey.

My Mother and Father encouraged me to pursue my dreams and helped me to build my production company. I now operate in all my business talents as Mycybermap.com , including

Internet radio station WMCR.

Click the Picture link, to go back to the future.

On Mycybermap I have found Care.com to be a metaphore for my upbringing and my business/ebusiness philosophy.

Extra, extra read all about it! Newspaper from New Years Eve 1914

I do care yesterday, today and forever.

Contact – John G. Dewberry by phone 404-328-0708 or email jgdewberry@mycybermap.com

©2015 All Rights reserved 

to reproduce this document please obtain written permission

 

 

 

